The Count of Monte Cristo

28 Oct

…. in a sandwich that is! No, this is not a sandwich about revenge, gold or anything like that but I love the book (kinda liked the remake movie and haven’t seen the original for some reason) and I knew there was a sandwich so I decided to try it out. Well, this is a fake out Monte Cristo Sandwich as I had to suit it to mine and my husbands liking… plain! It’s a sanwich so that’s pretty easy to do!

The traditional Monte Cristo Sandwich is sweet and savory but given that my husband would be leary of the combination, I went the more tradtional sandwich route – not sweet! Next time I make these I may make mine in a more tradtional fashion and his just as outlined below because he loved this and asked for it to be in the rotation!

“Monte-Cristo” Sandwich

Makes: 3 sandwiches
Ingredients
6 slices fresh deli ham
6 slices fresh deli turkey
3 slices Swiss cheese
6 slices bread
2 eggs
1-2 tablespoons milk
a pinch of nutmeg
a pinch pepper
salt
(a traditional Monte Cristo sandwich would also have mustard but I hate mustard!)

Directions
– assemble sandwiches layered with: 1 slice bread, 2 slices ham, 2 slices turkey, 1 slice cheese, remaining slice bread
(if you included mustard you would do bread, mustard, ham and so on…)
– in a shallow dish beat eggs, milk, nutmeg, salt and pepper to create a batter
– take each sandwich and dip in egg batter on both sides
– Grill sandwiches for a healthier option, but fry sandwiches for a traditional option

Monte Cristo sandwiches are tradtionally served with a sprinkling of powdered sugar and a raspberry jam to dip in. I didn’t think my hundband would like the sweatness of the sugar and dip so I omitted but I would imagine would have been great.

One Response to “The Count of Monte Cristo”

  1. Carrie 10/28/2008 at 1:31 pm #

    I love Monte Cristo’s and my favorite resturant closed that served them, I might have to try this!

Leave a Reply

