I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Made Chicken Parmesan Before!?!

31 Oct

This was just too darn easy not to make all the time! It was so good and so easy it’s going in to the rotation! Plus, I was totally not prepared to make it (for some reason I forgot about dinner!) so I just made something so insanely basic… next time I’ll tweak a little until I find the perfect recipe for us!

Chicken Parmesan for 2

I apologize for the horrible picture – we had a friend stop by as I was finishing up. Thankfully he was just getting his Halloween costume my husband ordered as I would not have made enough for all of us!
Source: Inspired by a Joy of Cooking Recipe – I just used the general concept and then I couldn’t find the recipe when I was cooking!
Ingredients
2 boneless/skinless chicken breasts
1/3 cup Italian Seasoned Breadcrumbs (could use plain and then add Italian Herbs)
1 egg
1 tablespoon water
S&P
Olive Oil
1 1/2 cups Marinara Sauce
2 slices Mozzarella Cheese

Directions
– Heat oil in deep skillet over medium heat
– Preheat oven to 375
– Season chicken with a little S&P
– Beat egg and water in a shallow bowl and add a little more S&P if desired
– Place breadcrumbs (and herbs if using) in another shallow bowl
– Dip chicken in egg mixture and let excess drip off
– Evenly coat chicken in breadcrumbs
– Carefully place chicken in skillet
– Cook about 2-3 minutes on each side until golden brown, set aside
– Meanwhile, lightly spray baking dish with cooking spray and put about 3/4 cup marinara sauce on bottom of dish
– Top with chicken
– Top each chicken breast with remaining sauce and a slice of cheese
– Bake in oven for about 30 minutes or until cooked through and cheese is melted.

One Response to “I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Made Chicken Parmesan Before!?!”

  1. Peabody 11/10/2008 at 8:26 am #

    It is a tasty dinner. Glad you finally made it.

Leave a Reply

