Meaty Pizza Braid

30 Mar

So, every year for the 4th of July we go to my husbands grandparents house for food, drinks, swimming, washers, volleyball, fireworks, etc… it’s a huge family tradition that has been going on since at least my aunts/uncles-in-law were children. Anyway, every year one of the things that I get most excited about is this pizza braid type thing that a friend brings over that we really only see on the 4th. It’s always so good and will get everyone out of the pool. As far as I know she’s never given out the recipe but I always think “I could make this, it can’t be too hard!” and then I drink a few more beers and I forget all about it for several months.

Not too long ago I remembered and decided to try it when I got a chance. I got my chance with being asked to bring an appetizer to a Friday evening bridal shower… Still not exactly the same but it was a good start. It was a hit and would have gone over better if it wasn’t a Friday during lent in a house full of Catholics… meat and lent don’t always mesh well together.

Meaty Pizza Braid
Source: my mind hole
Ingredients (to make 2 braids)
2 rolls Pillsbury Recipe Creations Crescent Roll Dough
1 1/2 pounds ground meat of choice (I used beef and sausage)
2 cups shredded Mozarella Cheese
2 tablespoons Italian Seasoning, + a little more to sprinkle
1 tablespoon EVOO, divided
a little bit of Parmesan Cheese to sprinkle

Directions
– Brown meats and drain, allow to cool for a few minutes
– Once cool, combine with shredded cheese and seasoning
– Preheat oven to cooking temp on dough (375 or 425 I believe)
– Unroll each sheet of dough on lightly floured surface and roll to about 10×14 inches or so
– place 1/2 of meat/cheese mixture in center of dough sheet, spread just down the center, long ways, leaving about 3 inches on each side to fold up.
– Using a pizza cutter or sharp knife, cut lines perpendicular to the meat mixture, about 1- 1 1/2 inches apart
– Bring the dough strips up, alternating like a braid, to meet in the center of the meat mixture. Crease to seal.
– Once assembled, brush top with EVOO and top with additional seasoning and parmesan cheese
– Bake in preheated oven about 15-20 minutes until heated through and golden brown.
One Response to “Meaty Pizza Braid”

  1. hopeful #1 03/30/2009 at 3:49 pm #

    Yum!!!!!

Leave a Reply

