Pizza Sauce

4 Mar
Not too long ago I posted about this amazing pizza crust I found, and now I’ve also found a great pizza sauce, as I mentioned was next on my list.  A few days after I made this pizza my husband was telling me about a recipe he saw in our local newspaper, the St. Louis Post Dispatch.  Maybe someday I’ll play around with the crust in the recipe, but I do pretty much feel that my new favorite crust will be a favorite for a LONG time, however I did try out the sauce, not to be disappointed.  Combine this sauce with the linked crust and you’ve found yourself a great base for an amazing pizza.  The sauce is about 5 ingredients and one step, you can’t get much simpler than that!  No more excuses for delivery or frozen anymore!
Pizza Sauce

Ingredients:
1 (8-ounce) can tomato sauce
3 tablespoons tomato paste
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
2 tablespoons dried oregano

Directions:
Whisk all ingredients together in a bowl and set aside until ready to use.

Source: St. Louis Post Disptach, via Cook’s Country Magazine.  (not sure if the recipe was actually published in the magazine, or given directly to the newspaper.)

One Response to “Pizza Sauce”

  1. ashley 03/04/2010 at 3:34 pm #

    mmm love a good homemade pizza!

Leave a Reply

