Homemade Potato Chips

16 Jun


Homemade potato chips are a food that I’ve been wanting to make for awhile, I just hadn’t gotten around to it.  It’s not that I’ve been intimidated, but since I don’t have a mandoline slicer I keep putting them off because it seems rather daunting to slice by hand.  One day I gave in, thinking homemade chips would be a good side to a small dinner.  I can cut things pretty thinly so not having a mandoline didn’t seem to be an issue for me, though with given how easy these were I may have to bump a slicer up on my kitchen want list!

To me, one of the most difficult things about homemade potato chips was deciding what to season with.  Sure, I could have gone simple with just salt, but I had this great wedge of Parmigiano-Reggiano, and some thriving Rosemary in my herb garden that I thought I’d work with that.  The fragrance of the Rosemary paired with the smooth, slightly nutty flavor of the cheese, paired with a bit of Paprika for and fresh ground pepper was amazing.  
I can’t wait to try out homemade chips again with other flavor variations!

Homemade Potato Chips
Ingredients:
1 lb. Russet Potatoes
large bowl of cold water
Canola Oil, for frying
Desired seasoning – I used:

1 tablespoon freshly shredded Parmesan Cheese

1 tablespoon fresh Rosemary, finely chopped

1 teaspoon Paprika

1 teaspoon fresh cracked pepper

Special equipment:
Deep fryer or Dutch oven and candy thermometer
Towels (paper for draining oil, paper or cloth to remove water)

Directions:
Using a Mandoline slicer, or sharp knife, very thinly slice potatoes.  Place in cold water for up to an hour.  Meanwhile, prepare oil either in a deep fryer, or dutch oven with a candy thermometer.  Oil should reach 350 degrees.  Combine seasonings in a prep bowl and prepare a baking sheet lined with paper towels

Using towels, drain and remove excess water from potatoes.  Carefully place a batch of the potatoes in the hot oil, cooking about 5 minutes, or until lightly browned.  Make sure not to overcrowd the potatoes in the oil or they’ll cook unevenly and take longer.  Remove with a spider skimmer or deep fryer basket and carefully place on the towel-lined baking sheet to drain excess oil.  Immediately season with prepared seasonings.

Continue until all chips are fried.  Allow to cool and serve the same day they’re made.  Will keep in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 2-days.

One Response to “Homemade Potato Chips”

  1. Amy of Sing For Your Supper 06/16/2010 at 7:23 pm #

    These look awesome! I tried to make homemade potato chips once and failed miserably!

Leave a Reply

