Cornflake Chicken Tenders

28 Jun

I am constantly telling myself that I need to prepare more freezer friendly meals – but you can only freeze so many pasta dishes, right?!  Now, I love a good classic lasagna  and recently discovered that Rigatoni with Turkey Bolognese might be better when defrosted, but I like variety.  Joelen recently did a post about preparing her freezer for when she brought her new son home, and has loads of freezer recipes to inspire me! In fact, forget inspiration for now – I flat out copied this one verbatim, but will say that I do plan on getting a little more creative when I have time to devote to filling my freezer with meals.  I love the idea of being able to ask my husband to just throw something in from the freezer if I’m running late – or even myself just having something to back up on in the instance that, again, I’m running late, or just don’t want to think about it.

These chicken tenders were so easy that I wished I’d bought two packages of chicken from the store.  I would love to have a few bags of these little guys in the freezer because even the most novice of chefs can throw them on a rack over a pan and bake – no defrosting needed!

Cornflake Chicken Tenders
Ingredients:
1 1/4 lbs. b/s chicken breast tenders, or 4 b/s chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch strips
1/4 cup flour
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 stick butter, melted
2 cups finely crush corn flakes cereal
Directions:
Adjust an oven rack to the middle position and heat to 400 degrees.  Place an oven safe cooling rack on a baking sheet and set aside.
Combine the flour and spices in a small bowl; set aside.  Place melted butter in another small bowl; set aside.  Place the crushed cereal in rimmed shallow plate or bowl.  
Dip the chicken piece in the flour, then butter, then cereal.  Place the coated chicken strips on the rack on the baking sheet.  
Bake the coated chicken pieces in the preheated oven 20-25 minutes, until chicken is no longer pink.  
* To freeze – prepare as directed to coat the chicken and spread them on a wax paper lined baking sheet after coating.  Place in the freezer, uncovered, and flash freeze about 30-45 minutes, until mostly firm.  Transfer the strips to a freezer bag labeled with the cooking instructions.  When ready to prepare – preheat oven to 400 degrees and bake frozen for 25 minutes on the baking sheet with the cooling rack.  
Source: adapted from Joelen’s Culinary Adventures
3 Responses to “Cornflake Chicken Tenders”

  1. Tiffany 06/28/2010 at 1:07 pm #

    I made a similar recipe that was buffalo chicken. It is so good and I never would have thought to use corn flakes. Yours looks delish!

  2. Joelen 06/28/2010 at 2:00 pm #

    So glad you tried them! Thank you for the mention and link back! 🙂

  3. thecookingnurse 06/30/2010 at 8:43 pm #

    These look great, good pic too 🙂

Leave a Reply

